Extracurriculars

reskin elementary school

Charles G. Reskin Elementary School understands that learning and engagement is necessary both inside and outside the classroom. Below are a list of extracurricular clubs and activities that we offer to students.

 

band and orchestra

Students in 4th and 5th grade have the opportunity to learn to play an instrument of their choice and participate in concerts with other students as members of the band or orchestra.

SPONSORS

Jennifer Baker: jbaker@d15.us
Ian Nevins: inevens@d15.us
Ben Dahlke: bdahlke@d15.us

 

BATTLE OF THE BOOKS

Students team up to read and study a selection of books from the current Bluestem Award nomination list in preparation for three levels of competitions (building, district, and crosstown). Battle of the Books helps the students build teamwork and close reading skills.

SPONSOR

Gina Korda: gkorda@d15.us

 

BILINGUAL BOOK CLUB

Students and families have the opportunity to read together in their second and native language, building a bridge between home and school, and promoting reading in participants' second and native language. 

 
Student watches GBE.jpg

CHORUS

The Hall Chorus consists of all interested 3rd, 4th, and 5th graders. The chorus meets during mid-day P.E. time, and performs throughout the year.  

SPONSOR

Heather Catlow: hcatlow@d15.us

 

D.A.R.E.

Drug Abuse Resistance Education (D.A.R.E.) is a program to help 5th grade students make good choices. Run by the school resource officer and supported by the school social worker, D.A.R.E. addresses internet safety, bullying, and other high risk situations.

SPONSOR

Michelle Cahill: michelle_cahill@glendaleheights.org
Maureen McGinnis: mmcginnis@d15.us

 

INTRAMURALS

All girls and boys in grades 4th and 5th can participate in a non-competitive environment around different sport-like activities. Intramurals are held two days a week before school (days depend on grade level) and are supervised by the physical education teacher. 

Intramurals Permission Form and Schedule

SPONSOR

Brian Caravello: bcaravello@d15.us

 

Multicultural Club

 

 
bus-1098970_1920.jpg

Student Patrol

The safety patrols help ensure student safety around the school.  They do this by assisting students in crossing the immediate street in front of Reskin.  They escort and assist in students getting on and off the bus. 

 
DSC00161.JPG

YOUNG AUTHORS

The Young Authors contest brings out the writer in every student! Students are encouraged to write and/or illustrate books alone or with a partner. Winners are selected by grade level, school, and genre to attend a special celebration and to get published in the school Young Authors book, which is housed in the Reskin library.